Friday, May 5, 2017

REVIEW: "I Found You" by Lisa Jewell (Women's Literature)

I FOUND YOU
by Lisa Jewell

Publisher: Atria Books
Genre: Womens Literature
Publication Date: Atria Books

Standalone: Yes




Other Books by Lisa Jewell

Goodreads
My Review

Goodreads

Goodreads
Description from Publisher:
A young bride, a lonely single mother, and an amnesiac man of dubious origin lie at the heart of New York Times bestselling author Lisa Jewell’s next suspenseful drama that will appeal to fans of Liane Moriarty and Paula Hawkins.

In a windswept British seaside town, single mom Alice Lake finds a man sitting on the beach outside her house. He has no name, no jacket, and no idea how he got there. Against her better judgment, she invites him inside.

Meanwhile, in a suburb of London, twenty-one-year-old Lily Monrose has only been married for three weeks. When her new husband fails to come home from work one night she is left stranded in a new country where she knows no one. Then the police tell her that her husband never existed.

Twenty-three years earlier, Gray and Kirsty are teenagers on a summer holiday with their parents. Their annual trip to the quaint seaside town is passing by uneventfully, until an enigmatic young man starts paying extra attention to Kirsty. Something about him makes Gray uncomfortable—and it’s not just that he’s playing the role of protective older brother.

Two decades of secrets, a missing husband, and a man with no memory are at the heart of this brilliant new novel, filled with the “beautiful writing, believable characters, pacey narrative, and dark secrets” (London Daily Mail) that make Lisa Jewell so beloved by audiences on both sides of the Atlantic.
My Rating:
My Musings:
This ia such a whirlwind once it gets going!! It starts off a bit slow and feels a bit disjointed (which is actually the perfect tone). Then, Jewell's rich and curious characters develop and these three worlds come to life and you cannot put the book down. Alice, single mom in a sleepy beach town, finds a man on the beach who apparently remembers nothing. Lily, young Ukranian newlywed immigrant, has no idea where her husbnd has disappeared to.

Then, Gray and Kirsty Ross are teenage siblings staying in Alice's town on holiday 22 years before and meet another teenager, Mark, who has his eye on Kirsty.

Who is the man with no memory? Where is Lily's husband? How is 1993 connected? It is seriously a fantastically unveiled mystery that doesn't have the ending you expect and keeps you guessing as every knew bit of information unfolds!


My Source: I received a digital ARC from the publisher to voluntarily review. This in no way influenced my review. My opinion is unbiased and my 100% own.

About the Author: Lisa Jewell
Lisa was born in London in 1968. Her mother was a secretary and her father was a textile agent and she was brought up in the northernmost reaches of London with her two younger sisters. She was educated at a Catholic girls’ Grammar school in Finchley. After leaving school at sixteen she spent two years at Barnet College doing an arts foundation course and then two years at Epsom School of Art & Design studying Fashion Illustration and Communication.

She worked for the fashion chain Warehouse for three years as a PR assistant and then for Thomas Pink, the Jermyn Street shirt company for four years as a receptionist and PA. She started her first novel, Ralph’s Party, for a bet in 1996. She finished it in 1997 and it was published by Penguin books in May 1998. It went on to become the best-selling debut novel of that year.

She has since written a further nine novels, as is currently at work on her eleventh.

She now lives in an innermost part of north London with her husband Jascha, an IT consultant, her daughters, Amelie and Evie and her silver tabbies, Jack and Milly.
GoodReads Newsletter Website Twitter Facebook Amazon

No comments:

Search